Long over due update

It’s been 5 months since I posted and that makes me the worst blogger ever. Now that I’ve accepted fault, let’s move on. Don’t hold onto the past.

So where have I been?

You may have noticed the economy took a nose dive from October to at least March. In March, MadCap and I agreed that we should cut my hours. I still work part time for MadCap, doing demos, running the webinar series, and helping where I’m needed. But that’s a small part of my time now.

So that’s where I’ve been.

What does this mean to you?

I can help you even more now.

If you bought Flare or Blaze (or other products) and are looking at getting the products integrated into your workplace, I can help. I can provide

  • Training
  • Advise the best way to start importing/converting/using legacy content
  • Advise the best workflow for you
  • Creating branded stylesheets/master pages/etc
  • Set up your import rules
  • Do the conversions
  • Create relationship tables for your content
  • And a lot more

I can help with small and large projects, at your site or off-site.

For example, I’ve been helping a company convert a lot of legacy RoboHelp content into Flare. This lets their writers focus efforts on generating new content to meet their deadlines. With the staffing cuts from this recession, this makes financial sense for them.

Contact me to start talking about how I can help you get productive.

In other MadCap news

The webinar series is back on after a short summer break. We have coming up:

Sept 9th Cascading Stylesheets (Part 3) Images

Sept 29th Indexing Boot Camp

Oct 20th Task Analysis for Developing Policies & Procedures Content

Stay tuned for an API docs webinar about October 7th and part 4 of the CSS webinar series on October 14th or so.

In personal news

We lost our other old dog in April. Lady went to sleep and didn’t wake up. She was 15 years old, blind and deaf. After a good long life, Lady was gone.

The Aussie was lonely and he wasn’t getting happier, so in May, we went to the local rescue shelter and found a new friend. Olivia (because an Augustus needs an Olivia) the Leonberger is about 10 months old now and a delight. She is a very large dog with a lot of puppy left in her. 70lbs of excited puppy. She’s the red dog in the photos to the right.

She hadn’t been worked with much, so we’ve spent the last few months doing basic training. Olivia is smarter than Gus and has picked up the training faster than he did.

She also loves swimming. And when I say loves, I don’t mean likes it a lot. I mean adores the water. Any water.

Gus and Olivia play chase attack kill and collapse in a pile together. They are both very happy.

We’re so glad we went to a rescue shelter to find our next dog.

Posted by: Sharon

Leave a Reply

