Happy Holiday to you from MadCap

This is probably my last blog post for 2008. I’m on vacation from the 21st to the 5th. A well deserved vacation, during which I plan to spend time with Current Husband, clean the house of junk, plan the next UC Riverside class, walk the dog a lot, knit, crochet, visit with friends, watch the backlog of DVR-ed TV, and, perhaps, sleep.

But I wanted to make sure I extend to everyone, regardless of the specific holiday you may celebrate, a Happy Holiday from MadCap Software. May your holidays be full of happiness. And may the next year be full of interesting and good things.

Thoughts at the end of the year

I’ve been blogging for 11 months. In that time, this blog has been hit with readers some 9,600 times. As much as I like being the center of attention, it’s a little odd to think there’s potentially 9,600 people who find what I might write worth reading. I’ll keep trying to write useful information or make you laugh or something in the next year.

With the uncertain economic situation worldwide, I urge you to be certain your skills are up-to-date. I preferred to never see another 2002 again, but I think we’re seeing it again. I’m not hearing about large numbers of technical communicators being laid off this time, but still…

With the uncertain economy in mind, MadCap Software is offering free webinars to help you keep your skills up-to-date. I’m talking to several more people about topics this spring. Keep watching this blog and our site at http://www.madcapsoftware.com/demos/webinars.aspx

And remember, if you have a topic you’d like to present, contact me and let’s discuss it.

Why are we doing these webinars? Because it’s scary out there. We can’t fix that but we can help a little. If you’re out of work, these webinars might help you get information that helps you find work. If you’re employed, these webinars might help you be more effective.

After all, without you all, MadCap wouldn’t be a success would we? So, in a way, we owe you a lot. This might help balance that.

Off you go!

OK – go have a lovely holiday, filled with the stuff you like and I’ll see you next year.

I’m certain I’ll be twittering while I’m off, so you can always find out what I’m doing that way!

Leave a Reply

