End of the quarter blues

I seem to like blogging on Saturday morning, when the animals and Current Husband are sleeping, so I thought I’d post.

The free webinars are filling up nicely. We have the info posted on our website now, so you can go to http://www.madcapsoftware.com/demos/webinars.aspx and sign up there as well, if you like.

We use GoToWebinar and are probably not recording these. I know the time is a problem for people in Asia and that part of the world. If that’s you, send me an email and tell me the names of the webinars you’d like a replay of and I can schedule those just for you all. 6pm for me is about 9am for you all – it’s doable.

And remember, if you want to present a topic, contact me and let’s talk about it. It’s a good line item on your resume and gets your name out. In this economy, anything you can do to stand out is a good thing.

Are you Certified MAD?

Another thing you can do to stand out is be certified, Certified MAD, that is. For $149, a short test, and a small project, you can be Certified MAD in Flare. That lets you use the Certified MAD for Flare logo on your resume, blog, website and other places. Potential employers or clients can call and verify your certification with us.

I like this program a lot. It shows you know what you’re talking about and it’s reasonably priced. I’ve seen these programs before and they were always a lot of money – $1500 or more. We priced this one low because we want to make it affordable for people. It’s a win all the way.

To find out more or to sign up, go to http://madcapsoftware.com/training/certification/.

Want to teach MadCap products?

I’ve been teaching part time for 10 or 11 years. I love teaching because it lets me know I’m doing good things to help people. I’m giving back to the community I love, training people in something I’m passionate about. In a few cases, I’ve been part of changing people’s lives by helping them get the background they needed to start a new career. That’s exciting.

So with that in mind, I’m thinking about starting a program to make our products very available to programs offering Tech Comm classes. If you teach for a program or coordinate a Technical Communication program, contact me at sburton(at)madcapsoftware.com. I’d like to bounce some ideas off you to see if these would work and find out what else you might need.

Finals, finals, everywhere

My students took their finals this week. That means this weekend is one long grading binge until we’re done. Today is grading and tomorrow is putting together the grades and then electronically submitting them.

Bonni isn’t as good in Excel as I am, so I get to put together the grades and submit them. And Sunday is her birthday, so it seems mean to lock her up with a spreadsheet as her birthday gift. Happy Birthday, here’s a spreadsheet.

Vacation, all I ever wanted

I’m taking 2 weeks off around Christmas. I’m cleaning out the garage, my home office, and probably helping a friend who is retiring clean out his office. It’s going to be a cleaning frenzy.

I typically use the last week of the year to clean out the junk and give it away, usually to Goodwill. This year, I’m trying something different.

There is a movement called “Free-cycling”. It’s based around the idea that the more stuff we can keep out of the landfills, the better. So local groups have email lists where you can post what you have to give away or what you are looking for. People respond if they need what you have or they have what you need.

I’ve been watching my local list (found on Yahoo) and I think I’ll be giving away a lot of stuff. I’ve not cleaned the garage in about 5 years, so there’s a lot of stuff that’s perfectly fine, I just don’t want it any more.

In these economic times, this seems a good way to pass on some Good in the world. The stuff will go to people who actually want it for the cost of gas to come get it.

Time to start my day

OK – it’s time to start looking at finals. I can’t put it off any longer. I have piles of sleeping dogs on the floor in my home office, Current Husband sleeping in the next room, I’ve read the ‘Net, posted to my blog, answered emails.

Short of starting laundry, I have no excuse left.

One Response to “End of the quarter blues”

  1. Why on earth are the “Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)” on this message links to a different WordPress blog — “dreddyclinic”?

Leave a Reply

