I’m on the road this week

I’m going to the Northern New England STC chapter this week. If you’re in the Nashua, New Hampshire area Feb 13th, then drop by. The details are at http://www.stc-nne.org. I’m demoing Blaze, Analyzer, and tidbits of Flare 4. I’d love to see you! I’m giving away a copy of Flare so that’s about $800 of software you could win.

I’ve only been to New England one time before, about 15 years ago, for an Anthropology conference I presented at. I’m looking forward to meeting people and seeing what I can from a hotel window. I’m a So Cal girl and I have no idea how one might drive on snow. I’m scared to walk on snow. Driving is more complex than walking so it sounds scary. So no rental car and no seeing the country side while I’m there. Perhaps they’ll have me back one day and I can see more.

Have I mentioned that we’re having some of the nicest weather we’ve had in 6 months in So Cal? It’s almost 80 degrees in Riverside (where I live) and 72 in La Jolla. Not a cloud and the sky is so blue, your heart breaks. And I’m going to a place where it’s getting up to perhaps 30 degrees on Wednesday. This is going to be hard.

One Response to “I’m on the road this week”

  1. It’s not as bad as people sometimes make it out to be. A large part of it is your mindset. If you keep telling yourself you’ll be cold, I can guarantee that you will be. However, if you tell yourself things like “I can handle this, this isn’t so bad,” you’ll do fine. (Dressing sensibly makes a world of difference, obviously. Beg, borrow, or steal a good winter coat, hat, and gloves or mittens. You won’t regret it, especially the hat.)

Leave a Reply

